Album Review: Rihanna – ANTI (2016)


At midnight on January 28th, Rihanna dropped her brand new and 8th studio album, ANTI (2016), exclusively on Tidal. The highly anticipated album by the Bajan superstar came out only 24 hours after Riri released new track Work featuring good friend & rapper Drake. Following teasers on her official Twitter, Rihanna gives us another new sound that’s carefree, original and definitely grown up. The short opening track Consideration (feat. SZA) shows off her Bajan accent, which I’m always a fan of her using on tracks; interlude track James Joint reflects sounds from her previous albums; before introducing the first full song, Kiss It Better. I can see this one being a big hit for the charts with the lyrics, vocals and that backing track and the heavy, sexy R&B sound. I really do love this song, and at the time of writing this I’ve only listened to it twice! The aforementioned duet with Drake is quite an interesting one; lyrically & vocally I find it kind of lazy, but damn is it catchy. The Canadian rapper’s verse is pretty on point though, and it’s great to hear these two collaborating again. Other tracks on the album dip into Rihanna’s lifestyle lyrically, with some songs having a grimy finish to them while others will please the power ballad lovers. The album does feature a big team of writers, but then again why not? There are plenty of creative people in the industry who want work, and I’m delighted Rihanna & her team can give writers that platform. The production of this whole album is brilliant, it’s very different to the early Rihanna we know and loved, but I like that. Progression, especially in music, is always a good thing which I welcome with open ears.  ANTI is already on repeat, so thanks for that RiRi!

If you haven’t heard this album yet, do sign up & listen to it on Tidal, and remember to buy the album!

ANTI - Rihanna 2016 Tidal


  1. Consideration (feat. SZA)
  2. James Joint
  3. Kiss It Better
  4. Work (feat. Drake)
  5. Desperado
  6. Woo
  7. Needed Me
  8. Yeah, I Said It
  9. Same Ol’ Mistakes
  10. Never Ending
  11. Love On The Brain
  12. Higher
  13. Close To You

Deluxe Edition Bonus Tracks

  1. Good Night Gotham
  2. Pose
  3. Sex With Me

Click to listen to ANTI by Rihanna on Tidal

Click to buy the album on iTunes!

Nirina XX

Follow: NirinaXX Follow: NirinaXX Follow: NirinaXX Follow: NirinaXX

Images © Rihanna, Roc Nation Records, Westbury Road Entertainment

One thought on “Album Review: Rihanna – ANTI (2016)

Reply to Cookie FM

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.